The Gili Islands

 

 

 

F R E E | F A L L

So this post will be the first to step away from previous, as I am no longer writing under the duress of university assignment guidelines. I have decided to continue blogging through the platform of Trash & Aesthetics, to further enhance my writing and communication skills. The future direction of the T&A is unknown, but will probably consist, for anyone who stumbles across it and chooses to read it, as a description of my travel and student experiences and who knows what else.

cd41f8dc362779f457cc2d3eb8e56780

c93ec3fd5c615b9595e3b7f7c88bdb67

73a86ebbd51510c5f11cd4afaeb01c3f

For my first post as an independent agent of the blogosphere, I thought I would share about my recent trip to the Gili Islands. My immediate family and I decided to escape the usual formalities of Christmas and head abroad this year. After briefly contemplating traveling to the Andaman Islands, off India, we decided to set our sights instead, more locally, and concluded on the Gili Islands. The Gili Islands (for those of you who don’t know) are an archipelago of three islands situated just North-West of Lombok in Indonesia.

10c25325a7a6aaba3dab5895f49fb016

8c5464fa8c4ed1f4bd2b90e6709f23b6

5c67ee77bfd3fd02e87eaed00f1e420b

We stayed on the largest of these Islands, Gili Trawangan, which originally was a remote oasis with little to no population, until the 1970’s. It is now a bustling resort island inundated with sunburnt western tourists, bloated of Bintang and mushrooms. I’ve never been particularly keen on visiting Bali, or similar surrounding areas, as I feel it has the potential to stereotype Australians. I have always, when traveling, put my sights further a field. For my first visit to Indonesia it was a lot less scaring than first predicted, with the local people being extremely generous and patient, and the setting stunningly beautiful. Both Gili Meno and Gili Air are also worth exploring and are considerably more remote then Gili Trawangan. My sister and I embarked on a day of snorkeling around all three Islands. The experience was very ‘Finding Nemo’, in regards the under water fauna we saw, including three turtles. It also gave powerful evidence of the destruction of the coral and natural marine life, due to the influx of tourists and rubbish.

3c897bdb603589ef458c1ee0a0a06853

All in all however, if you’re looking for a cheap holiday, with no itinerary or planning this would definitely be the spot. You can see more of my photo’s here.

Leave a Reply

